Monmouth County, New Jersey           

Monmouth County, New Jersey was established in 1675.

It is named for the Rhode Island Monmouth Society or from a suggestion from Colonel Lewis Morris that it be named after Monmouthshire, Wales.

At the 1778 Battle of Monmouth, near Freehold, General George Washington's soldiers defeated the British under Sir Henry Clinton, in the largest battle of the American Revolutionary War.

The county seat is Freehold.

Monmouth County is part of the New York Metro Area and it has a population of about 635,000.

Monmouth County is one of 21 counties in New Jersey.

Monmouth County is an increasingly desirable place to live due to its location on the Jersey Shore and close proximity to New York City.

Schools located in Monmouth County, New Jersey include Brookdale Community College
and Monmouth University.

Cities and towns located in Monmouth County, New Jersey include Freehold, Aberdeen, Cliffwood, Strathmore, Allenhurst, Allentown, Asbury Park, Avon-by-the-Sea, Belmar, Bradley , Brielle, Colts Neck, Deal, Eatontown, Englishtown, Fair Haven, Farmingdale, Hazlet, Highlands, Holmdel, Howell, Ramtown, Interlaken, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Little Silver, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Elberon, Pier Village, West End, Manalapan, Yorketown, Manasquan, Marlboro, Morganville, Matawan, Middletown, Belford, Fairview, Leonardo, Lincroft, Navesink, Port Monmouth, Millstone, Neptune City, Ocean Grove, Shark River Hills, Ocean, Colonial Terrace, Oakhurst, Wanamassa, Wayside, Oceanport, Red Bank, Roosevelt, Rumson, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Shrewsbury, Spring Lake, Tinton Falls, Wall,


For more information about Monmouth County, please click here, Inc. 2007